That’s the name of an Elvis Costello LP.

Spike® is also the name of a weirdo seasoning mix that I absolutely love.  It can be kind of hard to find, but if you see some anywhere, buy it and use it in everything; you won’t be sorry.  I’m told that Whole Foods generally carries it, but I’ve never set foot in a Whole Foods, so I don’t know for sure (nothing against Whole Foods.  I just don’t happen to be around one).

Here’s a partial list of Spike® ingredients, just to give you an idea of how spunky and odd it is:

Salt, yeast, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, toasted onion, onion powder, orange powder, soy flour, celery leaf powder, garlic powder, dill, kelp, curry, horseradish, white pepper, orange and lemon peel, summer savory, ground mustard flowers, green and red peppers, parsley flakes, tarragon, rose hips, saffron, mushroom powder, parsley powder, spinach powder, tomato powder, sweet paprika, celery powder, cayenne pepper, Greek oregano, sweet basil, French marjoram, rosemary, and thyme.

I don’t know who came up with it, but it’s wonderful stuff.  Find it, buy it, use it.

