Well, dang cuss it.

My router blew a gasket or threw a rod or something, and I was without Internet access for a while there.  Sorry ’bout that.

Going cold turkey was tough (especially since my DirecTV punked out too, which is, as we say in Texas, a whole ‘nother story), but the combined powers of AT&T and UPS have made everything right today–not free or even cheap, but right.

By the way, the router gave up the ghost about two days after the warranty expired.  Ain’t that a hoot?

I guess I’m living the American dream:  as a slave to The Man and planned obsolescence.

The good news is that I get to spend some time with my darling Olivia tomorrow.  The even better news is that I finally found a lawyer who can give me some straight answers and good advice (again, neither free nor cheap, but every man needs a good lawyer, a good doctor, and a good priest, regardless of the price tag) on the subject of visitation and custody.  I don’t want to jinx it by showing my hand too early, but let’s just say that things look good.  It’ll take a while and it’ll break the bank, but–good.  I’m willing to wait and to break the bank if it means reaching the end of the rainbow.

I’d love to be able to spend Easter with the Great One, but I have to work that day–such is the life of one in the food biz.  We work all the holidays that everybody else gets off, and Easter is a huge buffet occasion (right on the heels of Mother’s Day).  I invariably wind up having to man a carving station, which I absolutely hate doing.  I don’t know why my number comes up for carving station duty every year, but it does.  Maybe I’m being punished for past culinary karmic transgressions.

Livi loves Easter egg hunts.  I hated them, so it’s kind of weird, in a pleasant way, to watch someone else get so much pleasure out of them.  I wish I didn’t have to miss out on seeing her have so much fun.

Don’t get me wrong–I love the significance of Easter and the colors and sounds of spring (especially in Vermont).  I just wish I didn’t have to work a stupid carving station every stupid year (I was tempted to cuss, but inserted the word “stupid” instead).

The bad news is–well, I don’t really have any bad news.  Everything’s just ducky.  I hope everything’s equally ducky with you and that you have a beautiful Easter Sunday.

